top of page
  • Writer's picturePtr. Richard Nicio

The Thinking of Wise and Fool

Scripture Text: Ecclesiastes 7:1-6


It is better for a man to hear the rebuke of the wise than to hear the song of fools.

Ecclesiastes 7:5

Birds of the same feather flock together. Tell me what kind of people you belong, and I'll tell you who you are.


When I was young, I had a classmate who always wanted me to join him, in playing or doing something together. He does not like to study in school, but he likes to come to clean the floor of the principal’s office. He was good at cleaning the floor. By being together, he influenced me not to attend class and we clean the floor, just to spent time outside the classroom. He is fun to be with and little by little he had led me not to attend classes and we will spend time going around without learning anything from school. I was one that wandered aimlessly and missing something to learn. The effect of that influence was bad, that the result of my exams were low and that affected my grades to be low and worse was I did not read well. In short, I became a fool.


When I learned of this valuable lesson to not be accompanied with fools, I taught this to my kids for them to be aware. Bad company corrupts us when we allow them to rule us. On the other hand, when your company is wise, they will influence you to do good things. The wise man shares his wisdom to add good things in life.


So, choose those wise people who have godly wisdom. To be wise, we must choose the paths of the Lord instead the paths of distraction. The wise thinks differently because he has godly discipline, practices and values. He is not self-centered but willing to serve others first and do the will of God.


The difference between wise and fool is this: the fool always takes advantage for his own benefit and never thinks of others' interests, while the wise shares what the Lord has taught and that is to do good to others.


Remember that the Lord gave wisdom to the author of the book of Ecclesiastes to create wonderful things like composing godly songs and godly proverbs that are useful in our daily life. Wisdom is wealth that comes only from the Lord. The wise man searches for it and he found that the fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge and wisdom. So, choose to be wise.


Reflection

1. Who are your friends?

2. Where do you spend your spare time?

3. Do you read wholesome information to feed your mind?


Remember

Choose your friends to influence you with the right influence that comes only from God.


Read

Proverbs 8: 1-11; Proverbs 9:1-18; Acts 2:42-47; 2 Corinthians 6:14-18


Pray

Dear Lord, please guide us to discover who is wise among our friends to influence us with godly living. Always protect us from bad company and always grant us godly wisdom. In Jesus' Name. Amen.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page