top of page
  • Writer's picturePtr. Richard Nicio

Remember Our God

Updated: Jan 24, 2022

Scripture Text: Ecclesiastes 12:1


Remember also your Creator in the days of your youth, before the evil days come and the years draw near of which you will say, “I have no pleasure in them”;

Ecclesiastes 12:1

When l was young, my mother always told me that I do not exhausted because I play a lot. l always play outside of our house, running back and forth. But now I am getting old, and I get tired by just running a short distance. Proverbs 20:29 says, "the glory of young men is their strength, but gray hair is the splendor of old." I also noticed that I have a lot of gray hair—this is the sign of aging.


Remember Apostle Paul in 2 Corinthians 4:16, he says, "therefore do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day." Paul always remembers the Lord in his young age. He is a Pharisee, a teacher of law, and always seeks the Scripture to find the will of God until he personally encountered Christ on the way to Damascus. He began to follow the ways of the Lord and even his body became physically exhausted to proclaim the Gospel. He also said that he was torn between the two: he desires to depart and be with the Lord which is better by far but it is more necessary for the Philippians that he remains in the body for the progress and joy in faith of the Philippians.


We observed that Paul, even he was weary in ministry, he never gave up.The author of Ecclesiastes is right to say that someday, when we get old and find no pleasure to live, we must remember that it is God who gives us a life to pursue, even in our old age when our physical body deteriorates. We must not lose hope because when we use our strength in following the ways of the Lord, we will never regret it. The time we spent together with God in sharing the Good News Christ offered is worth it. Proverbs 16:31 says, "gray hair is a crown of splendor, it is attained by a righteous life." We can also attain this from God by remembering Him until we get older by living a godly life.


A believer must walk with God and remember Him all the time, because He will bless us in our physical and spiritual life here on earth.


Reflect

1. What are your memorable experiences when you were young?

2. Do you think about God while still young?

3. Do you take care of your health and your spiritual health?


Remember

When you are still young, think God first before you say that you find no pleasure in everything. God is our pleasure and He gives us a worthwhile life here on earth. Never regret the days because we have God on our side.


Read

Colossians 3:1-17; Psalm 25:1-22; 2 Corinthians 4:1-18; Proverbs 11:25-31


Pray

I thank You, Lord for this wonderful life you have given me. As I walk in Your ways and as I follow your path, please help me do Your will in my life. I exalt You, oh Lord, for Your wonderful blessings You have given to me. In Jesus Christ's Name. Amen.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page