top of page
  • Writer's picturePtr. Richard Nicio

Never Enough of Earthly Desire

Scripture Text: Ecclesiastes 2:10


All that my eyes desired, I did not deny them. I did not refuse myself any pleasure, for I took pleasure in all my struggles. This was my reward for all my struggles.

Ecclesiastes 2:10

When you ask a little child what he would like to be when he grows old, he tells you that he wants to be an architect, an engineer, a surveyor, a business guru, a famous artist, a great musician, or a great teacher and so on, because he wants to attain all of them.


For what reason? “Never enough”. There is a saying that “a jack of all trades is a master of none”. Do I believe in that? Yes, I do, because the more achievements you get, the more you cannot focus or master any of those, and you will become only in the level of mediocrity and have no mastery at all. This happens because people want to achieve more than they could have. They want to be more advanced in their contemporary. He wants to be on the top, to be number one—a competitor’s attitude.


What is the root of this attitude? I think it is greediness to be on top. The author of the Book of Ecclesiastes ("the author") was too proud of his achievements in life. You tell him what you want, and he will give you right away. To him, sky is the limit because he can afford and have all especially pleasure and leisure time.


He denied nothing of his desires. He thinks that he has everything to satisfy him, but there is one spot in his heart that cannot satisfy his cravings and he needs that spot to be filled—until he discovered that God is the answer to what was missing in his heart. God filled that spot in the author’s heart then he decided to enjoy what God gave him to enjoy. God gave him godly wisdom, talent, and treasure. He enjoys it with God by his side. He consults God first before he acts, and always looks for the will of God for him to follow.


That is the best way to imitate that habit, to follow God and do His will, and the result will be a meaningful enjoyment of life. Like the author, he obeys the commandment of God. At first he was disobedient, when he realized that God is the real purpose of his life, he finally obeyed God.


Reflect

1. Where do you spend your time?

2. How do you use your talent?

3. Do you enjoy life with contentment?


Remember

It is nice to have everything in this world, but time will pass and your desire will never be enough. Be content of God’s gift for you to enjoy. Enjoy with God and His will for you to make enough of everything.


Read

1 Kings 7:1-12; Proverbs 25:1-10; Song of Songs 7:1-13; 1 Timothy 6:6-8


Pray

Thank you, Lord, for the blessing that I received these days of my life. You always make my life meaningful with this blessing. Please forgive me for the times that I did not appreciate you and thank you for what you have done in my life. You always do your will in my life. Thank you again Lord. In Jesus' Name, Amen.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page