top of page
  • Writer's picturePtr. Richard Nicio

Listen to Lord's Discipline

Updated: May 2, 2022

Scripture Text: Proverbs 3:11-12


My son, do not despise the Lord's discipline

or be weary of his reproof,

for the Lord reproves him whom he loves,

as a father the son in whom he delights.

Proverbs 3:11-12

Do you remember the time when you were young? When you commit a mistake, who actually rebukes you or beats you with the rod of discipline? Is it your mother or your father? In my younger years, l did not have a father who rebuked and disciplined me, but l had my grandfather who has beaten me with a rod. lt was hurtful, but in that way of discipline, he taught me the right way. l know my grandfather loved me because he beat me with gentleness just as the beat of the rod of a loving father. I thanked him for that, because he taught me to understand my faults and to never do it again because it is not a good habit.


When we are get old, our parents allow us to decide what is right and when there is no parent to consult and then we made a wrong decision, there is our Father in Heaven who can rebuke and discipline us. l remember David when prophet Nathan told him a simple story, he realized the wicked man in the story then he burned with anger. He said the man must pay for the lamb four times because he did such a thing and had no pity. Then Nathan told David that he was the man who committed the sin of adultery with Bathsheba. When David heard, he immediately repented and said, "I have sinned against the Lord." David was forgiven but there were consequences for his sin. Even though David found favor in the Lord's eyes and knowing that David was after the Lord's heart, David was found guilty of his sin.


There was a time when David despised the warning of the Lord and followed his own way. He thought he was wise in his own eyes but in the end, he regretted it. The Lord disciplined David for what he has done, because the Lord loved David as His own son. The Lord disciplines those He loves to bring back the right fellowship with God. The Lord delights in His son David that is why He initiated discipline for David to repent and know the lesson of his fault.


Moreover, we, as His sons and daughters, need to have the Lord's discipline and rebuke. So we must listen to Him because He knows what is best for us. In the book of Hebrews, it says that the faithful sons and daughters of God were always encouraged to endure hardship as discipline from God. We must submit to the Father our spirit for He knows what is best and good for us. The discipline is painful but it will produce a harvest of righteousness and peace.


Reflect

1. Have you been spanked by your parents?

2. Did you learn your lesson when they spanked you?

3. Do you endure the Lord's discipline?


Remember

The Lord's discipline shows the love of a father to His son that He delights in.


Read

2 Samuel 12:1-14; John 14:1-14; Psalm 27:1-14; Philippians 2:1-11


Pray

Thank You, Lord for disciplining me. I appreciate Your rebuke because You love me and You know what is the best for me. I will obey Your commands to help me to grow in faith. Thank You, Lord. This I pray in Jesus' Name. Amen.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page