top of page
  • Writer's pictureBro. Javid Ducalan

What Truly Makes Sense

Scripture Text: James 2:14-18


But someone will say, “You have faith and I have works.” Show me your faith apart from your works, and I will show you my faith by my works.

James 2:18

After James addressed the truth that a Christian should treat all Christians with equal value and love them as how God wants us to love and treat them, he started to address the true meaning of Faith.


Faith is an easy word to say, but can only be proven by the way of our lives which is why it was reminded that faith and works go hand in hand because the manifestation of faith is by works. Even the saving faith that we've received from God through our Lord Jesus Christ will have an immediate manifestation on our actions.


James then gave an example of what is faith without an action and it does not make sense. Us Christians should know that we match our actions with our belief. If there's a command that God wanted us to follow and we declare it by words but not do it by works, it will not have any effect. Just like how our fathers acted based on their faith. Abraham left his homeland because of God's promise. Abraham was willing to sacrifice his son for God because of His faith. This is faith.


We all know that faith is not a passive belief, but an active action. True faith works and that faith saves. Let us not jump into conclusion that actions are the ones that save us. It is the faith that comes from God that saves us and the effect of that faith is a renewed mind with actions that focus on glorifying God.


Faith is alive to those who are truly called by Christ. It is an irresistible force to believe and act upon that faith that was gifted and this will never have a dead faith because Christ is alive in him and faith is manifesting naturally because of the Holy Spirit.


Reflect

Do I live by the faith that Christ has given me or all I do is speak out my faith but not live it out for God's glory?


Remember

God gave us faith to live it out and not hide it. We are His workmanship and we were saved to advance His Kingdom. Slacking off as a Christian was never an option.


Read

2 Corinthians 5:7; Romans 1:17; Hebrews 11


Pray

I ask for Your help, merciful Father, Who is the author of our faith. Help me to live with this faith and not rely on anything, but to You and Your words alone. Please give me the strength that I'll need to give glory to You. Continuously change my heart to how You want it to be, just like Your Son, Jesus Christ. In His name, I pray. Amen.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page