top of page
  • Writer's pictureBro. Javid Ducalan

The Law, The Faith, and The Justification

Scripture Text: Galatians 2:15-21


For through the law I died to the law, so that I might live to God. I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

Galatians 2:19-20

Faith is the way for a Christian to be reconciled with God through Christ. This is also the enabling power that was given by the Holy Spirit for us to follow the Law of God which was commanded through the Word.


Law is the perfect standard of God which is holy and to be followed by all Christians and from which you will see yourself lacking as a follower of God.


Justification is the eternal effect of faith from which you were once a sinner and made righteous through Jesus Christ.


These three shouldn't be separated from each other. These should be in one picture. One cannot receive justification if faith is not present and justification is not necessary if there is no violated law.

From the previous passage, Apostle Paul was initially disappointed in Peter who was eating with the Gentiles and is disengaged from the fellowship just because there are Jews who went there and were adhering to the traditional belief that Jews and Gentiles shouldn't be on one table. Peter himself is aware that both Jews and Gentiles are saved not because of their traditions nor their lineage, but because of faith in the Lord Jesus Christ.


By the time Apostle Paul emphasized that neither Jews nor Gentiles are justified by following the laws of God, but by faith in the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ. He is the only way for us to be justified regardless of whatever race we are from. He knew that none is saved by following the law since none, but the Word himself, Jesus Christ, can completely follow the Law.

Since then, Apostle Paul is living for Christ as a new creation who died to the law, and now lives for Christ. He has now devoted himself to Christ and denied himself, to follow the will of God in His life. The last statement of Paul was a declaration that a man's justification in God's eyes is only through Jesus Christ and not through any other way, because Christ's sacrifice will no longer be necessary if the law is made to save us.


The only way to God is through faith in Jesus Christ, the Law serves as a guide and as a mirror to which a Christian can see his imperfections in front of God, but to also see that it was through Christ's sacrifice that our sins are not just forgiven, but justified and made right with God.


Reflect

1. Do you see yourself as someone who was justified through faith in Jesus Christ and is living life solely for the glory of God?

2. Do you see yourself doing your best to present your life holy to God by following His will to the best that you can through the Holy Spirit?


Remember

Our faith and actions should never be based on the people around us nor the traditions that were imposed by men, but by living only through the will and word of God, which is why we are a living sacrifice. We are already dead from our old selves and are alive in Christ and for Christ alone since we were made right in front of God through Him.


Read

James 1:22-25; Romans 3:24-26, 5:16-18, 10:1-21

Pray

I pray to you, my faithful and loving Father who gave His only Son for me to be eternally reconciled with You. I am forever grateful for this is beyond comprehension, that a wretched being like me is loved by a holy and just God. Please allow me and guide me to live my life in accordance to Your word. Empower me through Your Spirit to live only for You and remind me that I am enjoying Your presence and blessings because it was Christ who suffered. In Your Son's Name, I pray. Amen.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page