top of page
  • Writer's picturePtr. Rod Ocenar

The Best Food

Scripture Text: John 4:34


Jesus said to them, “My food is to do the will of him who sent me and to accomplish his work.

John 4:34

Food is one of the essential things that our body needs to be nourished. We love our body that we study for the best food to eat to be healthy and be able to do our passions and hobbies in life. We even take vitamins and supplements to keep it strong to resist any virus, bacteria, and sickness that may attack from our environment. Eating what science has studied for us to be healthy is very good, that's why we educate ourselves about eating go, grow and glow foods.


Caring for our body is also our duty to God who created it. Because the Bible says, how we treat and keep our body is also our way of worshipping Him.


In our text, Jesus introduces another kind of food that he eats. In this case, it is not the literal food we know but that of the works of the Father he wanted Jesus to accomplish. Jesus said, "My food is to do the will of him who sent me and to accomplish his work." Here, Jesus is telling the disciples that it's not only by taking in physical food that we will be full and nourished but also in taking part in the works of the Lord like sharing His gospel, doing discipleship, caring for others, and reaching out for those lost souls.


Have you experienced that there are times when you still felt incomplete even if you have taken all you knew will make you complete? Why? What is still lacking? Yes! It is your journey with somebody to do the works of ministry for God. You and I would have to go outside in the field to share Jesus as children of God. We are called to continue that ministry until He comes. Trust me, you will feel more accomplished, comfortable, and happier if you minister than eating many delicious foods. Why? Because by doing the works of God, you give strength, hope, and even save lives that are doomed to eternal suffering.


Reflect

1. Do you know this food of Jesus?

2. Do you feel lacking and incomplete?

3. Did you try doing the ministry of Jesus?

4. When are you planning to reach out for the lost?


Remember

Physical food is essential but it is our spiritual food—our ministry for Jesus—that will give us fulfillment in our Christian life.

Read

Job 23:12; John 5:3, 36, 6:38, 17:4

Pray

Lord Jesus, thank You for teaching me today that it is not only the literal food that will nourish me, more so, it is doing and continuing Your works and ministry. It is true, Lord, that I have tried many things in my life to be complete and satisfied. Now I know what is missing. I pray for courage that I might be bold enough to share Your gospel, and be bold enough to contribute my gifts to the ministry of the church. This I pray in Your Name, my Jesus. Amen.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page