top of page
  • Writer's picturePtr. Rod Ocenar

Jesus, the Great I Am

Updated: May 30, 2022

Scripture Text: John 8:58

Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I am.”

John 8:58

God has revealed Himself to men. The great names of God in the Old Testament are self-revelations of the LORD God to men and women who were in helpless situations. "Man’s extremity is God’s opportunity." In each case God saw their need, demonstrated that He alone could perfectly meet the challenge and in that experience taught the individual, or the nation some special characteristic, or attribute of His person. To Moses, He revealed Himself by His personal name, "I AM" or "I AM THAT I AM." (Exodus 3:14).

The LORD God made His greatest and most complete revelation of Himself in the person of His Son, Jesus Christ.


The writer of Hebrews says, "God, after He spoke long ago to the fathers in the prophets in many portions and in many ways, in these last days has spoken to us in His Son, whom He appointed heir of all things, through whom also He made the world. And He is the radiance of His glory and the exact representation of His nature, and upholds all things by the word of His power. When He had made purification of sins, He sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high" (Hebrews 1:1-3).


The apostle Paul succinctly writes of Jesus Christ saying, "He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation. For by Him all things were created, both in the heavens and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities—all things have been created through Him and for Him. He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together... For it was the Father’s good pleasure for all the fullness to dwell in Him" (Colossians 1:15-17, 19).


How did Jesus describe Himself? During a heated exchange with a group of Pharisees, He said, Your father Abraham rejoiced to see My day, and he saw it and was glad." So the Jews said to Him, "You are not yet fifty years old, and have You seen Abraham?" Jesus said to them, "Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was born, I am." Therefore they picked up stones to throw at Him, but Jesus hid Himself and went out of the temple" (John 8:56-59).


They knew exactly whom Jesus was referring to when He called Himself "I AM." They were so incensed that they picked up stones to stone Jesus to death right there on the temple grounds.

Jesus said He was the same person as the "I AM," (which in the Greek language is EGO EIMI) God, the Self-sufficient One, without beginning and without end.

Reflect

1. Have you discovered the Great I AM, the all-sufficient Savior? 2. What will you do with Jesus Christ? (What you decide determines your eternal destiny once and for all.)


Remember

Since Jesus Christ is the I AM, God (one of the Trinity), then He has every right to our full allegiance and complete loyalty. He alone can meet our every need if we will trust Him. But we have to meet Him on His conditions, not ours.


Read

Exodus 3:14; John 17:5; John 17:24; Isaiah 9:6; Micah 5:2; Isaiah 44:6


Pray

Loving Father, I stand amazed in Your presence knowing that Jesus my Savior and Lord came from His sovereign position on the eternal throne of Deity – to die for me. Truly the Lord Jesus Christ is my Lord and my God, and I worship You. In Jesus' Name I pray. Amen!

74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page