top of page
  • Writer's picturePtr. Rod Ocenar

He Must Increase, I Must Decrease

Scripture Text: John 3:22-30


He must increase, but I must decrease.

John 3:30

We are all doing our best since the day we understood that achieving more things in life means success. We try all our geniuses to become popular in schools, in companies we work for, in our businesses, and even in the different groups we belong. We do every hard work and sacrifice to get the beautiful things and possessions in life like expensive gadgets, a large amount of money and savings in the bank, beautiful and spacious houses, luxurious cars. There is no wrong in acquiring all these good stuff. The Bible says that if these were from our good labor, God will also be happy with us.


It is also true that these things would make our life easier. Only, the Bible warned us to give and return all the glory, honor, and thanks to Him. Because the truth is, we cannot have anything unless it is given by God. That is why the John says, "no one can receive anything, unless God gives it from heaven (John 3:27). Therefore, we should not forget that we acquire the things we have because God just allowed us to be the steward of it. We should not boast as if it was all the result of our hard work.


True believers and followers of God know it. That is the reason why they keep humbling down before the Lord for all He has given to them. No wonder John can say, "He must increase, I must decrease."

Reflect

1. Do you recognize God on every success you have?

2. What feelings do you experience whenever you do it?

3. Do you believe that God will continue blessing you in doing so?

4. Is God worth giving the glory?


Remember

God creates everything and He also owns it. His creation never stops, your latest gadgets, models of houses, editions of expensive cars, and everything comes from His mind. He only allows people to discover it. He is worthy of your praise and thanksgiving.


Read

1 Corinthians 4:7; James 1:16-17; Deuteronomy 8:11-20; Hosea 2:8


Prayer

Our heavenly Father, I thank You for You loved me. You allowed me to produce what I have for myself and my family. Thank You also for Your sacrifice at the cross so I can now enjoy being in the family of God. Forgive me if there are times that I don't give the glory to Your Name for the things that You have given me. I pray Father for Your help that every time I talk about those blessings I have, I will be sharing about how great and faithful You are to me. I give You all the glory and honor and praise. In the most precious Name of my Lord Jesus Christ. Amen.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page