top of page
  • Writer's picturePtr. Rod Ocenar

Do You Want to Get Well?

Scripture Text: John 5:6


When Jesus saw him lying there and knew that he had already been there a long time, he said to him, “Do you want to be healed?”

John 5:6

I grew up in an unpleasant kind of environment where drinking all kind of stuff that will make one drunk is happening. There is gambling, there is drug addiction, adultery—unlawful activities everywhere. Name it, we have it there. These are common and natural in the kind of living I had in my past, so I accepted that I cannot escape this kind of life, that one day I will wake up in jail because I got caught for starting a riot, hurting people because of drunkenness or being a drug addict. I'll be in the hospital or worse is I might have gotten killed. Reminiscing it, I realize that I am such a filthy boy. I have no future, who can help me? Is this the kind of life God prepared for me?


Hope shines until someone, my friend, took me to a Bible study. There, I learned that Jesus is the one who can help my perilous life. The Lord is willing to take me out of that darkness, what I need to do is just to follow His instructions.


To make the long story short, that paved the way for me to become a pastor. Jesus entrusted me a church, and I have to be a good steward of it. Now, I can't ask for more, than to be a faithful servant until He comes.


Like the lame man in the passage, I'm pretty sure that every one has a hopeless situation now, and we have accepted that there is no hope, no cure for our sickness, because no one is there to help us. My friend, there is Jesus. He is asking you, "do you want to get well? Take up your bedroll and walk, and sin no more so that nothing worse may happen to you." (v. 6, 14)


Reflect

1. Are you still in a bad-hopeless kind of living?

2. Do you know that Jesus can lead you the way out?

3. If He will take you out, what will be your response to Him?

4. What should you do now, to make your friends and family experience the same?

Remember

Only our Lord Jesus, the Savior, the Protector of life, and the Healer of the world can give us healing to our dying and hopeless life.


Read

2 Chronicles 2:14-15; Mark 2:1-12; Luke 5:17-26; Matthew 9:1-8

Pray

Dear Father, I thank You for making Yourself known to me in spite of being a sinner. Help me to be free of this hopeless and bad situation that I have, and help me to follow You everyday. This I pray in Jesus, my Lord. Amen.

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page