top of page
  • Writer's pictureRev. Rumel Caballero

Truth and Love

Scripture Text: 2 John 1:1-6


And this is love: that we walk according to His commands. This is the command as you have heard it from the beginning: you must walk in love.

2 John 1:6 (HCSB)

In the summer of 2022, the U.S. Postal Service’s longest-tenured letter carrier, Johnnie Bell, celebrated 70 years of sorting and delivering mail in Oklahoma City. When he started, the pay was only $1.81 per hour. “Thanks so much for this recognition,” he said humbly. “This is just something I do because I enjoy doing it.”


We don’t know who delivered the letter of 2 John, but a letter from the revered apostle surely brought joy to the churches in western Asia. The “elder” in verse 1 is of course John himself. The “lady” seems to be a person who was well-known in the church and might have been a house-church host or leader. Some scholars, though, identify “lady” as a metaphor for a particular church congregation. In either case, John loves her “in the truth,” that is, because God’s truth lives in both of them and will do so forever (v. 2). His greeting links truth and love to God’s grace, mercy, and peace (v. 3).


John felt joy to write to believers who walked in truth and obedience to God’s commands (v. 4). “Some” meant not everyone, but he still rejoiced. “Children” meant fellow members of God’s family, perhaps specifically believers who had become followers of Christ through his ministry.


The main topic of John’s second letter echoes the first: “Love one another” (v. 5). This type of love is not merely a feeling or emotion but means to follow in the humility and servitude shown by Jesus. The church had been following this command ever since it was founded by Christ. John defined love as walking in obedience, and obedience as walking in love. You cannot separate one from the other.


Reflect

1. How do you show love to others?

2. How can I grow in obedience and demonstrate my love for God through my actions?

3. What steps can I take to strengthen my discernment and remain steadfast in my faith?


Remember

Believers-followers of Christ, love one another, obey God's commands, be cautious of deceivers, and stick to the teachings of Christ. These are fundamental for our Christian faith and in our faith community; we are to love one another as our obedience to Christ’s command, be discerning, and unwavering faithfulness to Christ's teachings.


Read

Leviticus 19:18&34; Deuteronomy 10:12-13; John 13:34–35; Romans 103:8-9; 1 Peter 1:22-23


Pray

Heavenly Father, help me not to take Your love for granted. Help me reverently obey Your charge to love others; my neighbors; my co-believers and followers of Your Son Jesus Christ as I have been loved by You. May I always find joy in loving and serving my brothers and sisters in Christ! In His name I pray, Amen.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page