top of page
  • Writer's pictureRev. Rumel Caballero

Seeing God's Loving Ways

Updated: Jul 4, 2022

Scripture Text: Joel 1:16-20


To you, O LORD, I call. For fire has devoured the pastures of the wilderness, and flame has burned all the trees of the field. Even the beasts of the field pant for you because the water brooks are dried up, and fire has devoured the pastures of the wilderness.

Joel 1:19-20, ESV

A mother was working in the kitchen when she heard the sound of whimpering on the back porch. When she opened the door, she saw her small son sitting on the steps nursing a bruised finger and crying. He and a friend had been loading rocks in a basket when one of the rocks had landed on his hand. “Why didn’t you tell me you were hurt?” his mother asked. The boy sheepishly replied that he had been afraid to come to her. “Afraid?” she said in amazement. “Why would you be afraid?” “I thought you might be angry,” the boy explained. The mother bandaged her son’s finger and as she hugged him she said, “You never have to be afraid to come to us when you are hurt.”


The consequences of Israel’s disobedience in Joel’s day had been painful for both man and beast. A combination of locusts and drought had destroyed the crops. Men and animals alike were suffering. What is more, the shortage of food had interrupted the cycle of temple sacrifices and festivals (Joel 1:16). The pitiful lowing of hungry cattle and the bleating of starving sheep mirrored the anguished cries of God’s people (Joel 1:18). As Joel watched wild fires consume land and crops, he added his voice to this chorus of suffering (Joel 1:19). This was God’s intention. His design was that Israel’s suffering would make them aware of their own sin and would instill in them a longing for restoration. These sufferings prompted God’s creation to “pant” or long after God (Joel 1:20).


It could only be hoped that His people would be as wise as the animals they tended.


Reflect

1. How have you responded to the difficult circumstances in your life?

2. Would you say that they have drawn you closer to God, or are you in danger of being driven away from Him?

3. Do you know that your sin may affect not only you but others in your life as well?



Remember

Take time to examine the difficulties you face. Perhaps, God’s been using them to teach you more about His faithfulness and forgiveness. While not every problem you meet may be a case of divine discipline, you can have confidence that God is lovingly working through the events that come your way to produce righteousness and peace in your life.


Read

Proverbs 3:11-12; Hebrews 12:7-10; James 1:2-4; Romans 8:18-22


Pray

Heavenly Father, open my eyes that I may see Your ways that lead me back to Your loving fellowship. Open my ears that I may hear the whisper of Your voice in those things and make me ponder in my heart the Words that You have graciously sown in me. Break my heart once more that I may respond properly and pleasingly in Your sight, oh my Lord. Let me always see all Your loving ways on me because I know that I am Your child. This I pray in Your Son’s name and my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. Amen.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page