top of page
  • Writer's pictureRev. Rumel Caballero

Open Doors and Secure Pillars

Scripture Text: Revelation 3:7-13


[8] I know your works. Because you have limited strength, have kept My word, and have not denied My name, look, I have placed before you an open door that no one is able to close.


[12] The victor: I will make him a pillar in the sanctuary of My God, and he will never go out again. I will write on him the name of My God and the name of the city of My God — the new Jerusalem, which comes down out of heaven from My God — and My new name.

Revelation 3:8&12 (HCSB)


Small magnitude earthquakes can happen hundreds of times each day around the world. Major earthquakes take place about once a month. The ancient city of Philadelphia was located about 28 miles southeast of Sardis, in a region where earthquakes often took place. The city had nearly been destroyed by a large quake in A.D. 17.


The church too had been shaken by conflicts with those who opposed the gospel. Jesus characterized them as weakened with “little strength,” but despite this they had not denied Him (v. 8). In contrast, Jesus described Himself in terms that emphasize authority and power. He is the one who holds “the key of David” (v. 7). This allusion to Isaiah 22:22 highlights Christ’s ruling authority. When Christ opens a door, none can shut it. The open door that He had placed before this church was the opportunity to bear witness despite continued opposition. Though rejected by some who claimed to have a relationship with God, a day was coming when Christ would show their persecutors that the Philadelphian believers were accepted by Him.


Jesus also promised to spare the church “from the hour of trial that is going to come on the whole world to test the inhabitants of the earth” (v. 10). The sweeping nature of this trial makes it unlikely that it is a merely local event. Some see this as a promise of the church’s protection from the tribulation described in the later chapters. Whether or not it refers to the Great Tribulation, this is a clear promise of future security.


Though weak now, the one who holds on will be a “pillar” in God’s temple (v. 12). This image speaks of immovability. Although shaken by their present troubles, the believer has a fixed and permanent place in God’s presence.


Reflect

1. In what areas of your life do you need to surrender control to Christ, trusting His faithfulness?

2. What practical steps can you take to rely on Christ's strength during difficult times?

3. How do you currently listen for God's guidance in your life?


Remember

Christ's unwavering authority, faithfulness, and promise of protection for those who remain faithful to Him. Embrace the truth that Christ holds the keys, signifying His control over your life, opening doors that none can close. Take comfort in the promise of being shielded from trials, drawing on Christ's strength during challenges. Cultivate an attentive spirit to the Holy Spirit's guidance in your daily life, relying on His wisdom in decisions.


Let us freely express gratitude for Christ's faithfulness, find comfort in His promises, and actively seek the guidance of the Holy Spirit, knowing that Christ is both in control and faithful to those who trust in Him.


Read

Isaiah 22:22; Matthew 16:18-19; John 14:21–24; Colossians 4:3


Pray

Dear Lord, I come before You in gratitude for Your unwavering authority and faithfulness, as revealed in Your Word. Thank You for holding the key of David, signifying Your control over my life. Help me trust in Your open doors and surrender areas where I seek control. I find comfort in Your promise to keep me through trials; strengthen me in times of difficulty. May I actively listen to the Holy Spirit's guidance, seeking wisdom in daily decisions. Thank You, Lord, for Your faithfulness, and may my life reflect the assurance found in your promises. In Jesus' name, I pray. Amen.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page