top of page
  • Writer's pictureBro. Jojo Torreja

Pride Causes a Lot of Troubles

Scripture Text: Judges 12:1-7


After the victory given by God to Jephthah over the Ammonites and following a traumatic, unforgettable experience—a sin he committed by sacrificing his only daughter through a burnt offering due to vows made to the Lord—another tremendous battle ensues between Ephraim tribe and Jephthah's army.


The reason Ephraim's people challenged Jephthah's army was that he hadn't called or enlisted them when he fought against the Ammonites. They insulted and threatened him, claiming they would burn his house, including him.


Jephthah answered them, “The Ammonites have been giving us many problems. So my people and I fought against them. I called you, but you didn’t come to help us. I saw that you would not help us, so I risked my own life. I went across the river to fight against the Ammonites. The Lord helped me defeat them. Now why have you come to fight against me today?” (Judges 12:2‭-‬3)


This conflict echoes an earlier incident when Ephraim challenged Gideon (Judges 8:1-3). In the first incident, Gideon pacified Ephraim, but in Jephthah's case, he couldn't, leading to a civil war. The Ephraimites fought but were defeated, with around forty-two thousand men dying on the side of the Ephraim tribe. Consequently, they never played a significant role in Israel's history again.


Comparing the characters of Gideon's and Jephthah's early ministries reveals significant differences. Gideon had a godly character, obeying God's will and instructions. He negotiated wisely and humbly with Ephraim's tribe, resulting in long peaceful years in the land. On the other hand, Jephthah had a human character, easily swayed by the evil one. He struggled with pride, hatred, and uncontrolled anger. Nevertheless, God still used him for His divine purpose.


Reflect

1. Which character do you prefer: godly character or an evil one?

2. Do you still harbor pride, hatred, or uncontrolled anger? Do you want to overcome these?


Remember

Even Christians (believers and followers of our Lord Jesus Christ) are not exempt from the attacks of the evil one. The Devil exploits our character and weaknesses to weaken us spiritually. However, God assures us of total protection because no one can snatch us from the hand of our Mighty Father through our Lord Jesus Christ (John 10:28-29).


Read

Proverbs 8:13, 11:2, 16:18, 21:24, 29:23


Pray

Dear God,


I praise and thank You, for You deserve all our thanksgiving. Holy are You, oh God, wise and mighty.


I come before Your throne, asking You, dear Lord, to take away my pride. You loathe boastfulness, and it is for this reason that the evil one is destined for eternal damnation. I humbly bow down before you, asking for Your protection for me and my household, that we may not sin against You and displease You with pride in our hearts. I ask this in my Lord's name, Jesus, Your Son. Amen.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page