top of page
  • Writer's pictureBro. Jojo Torreja

Experience the Hands of the Perfect Deliverer

Scripture Text : Judges 3:1-11


But when the people of Israel cried out to the Lord, the Lord raised up a deliverer for the people of Israel, who saved them, Othniel the son of Kenaz, Caleb’s younger brother.

The Spirit of the Lord was upon him, and he judged Israel. He went out to war, and the Lord gave Cushan-rishathaim, king of Mesopotamia into his hand. And his hand prevailed over Cushan-rishathaim.

Judges 3:9‭-‬10

In our scripture, we can see immediately the cycle of the Israel's life; in verse 7 the apostasy done by Israel, in verse 8 the servitude, in verse 9a the supplication and in verses 9b-10 the salvation.


The moment God's people cried out and asked help from the Lord, He immediately heard and answered them. That's why the Lord raised up a deliverer to save them (vv. 9-10)


Othniel was anointed by God as first judge of Israel and was empowered by God's Spirit. The Spirit of the Lord was on Othniel, and he delivered the Israelites from the hand of

Cushan-rishathaim, king of Mesopotamia (modern Iraq).


Othniel, was the son of Kenaz, Caleb’s younger brother, He was from the tribe of Judah. One of his accomplishments and reward was when Caleb challenged his troops mentioned in Judges 1:12‭-‬13,


And Caleb said, “He who attacks Kiriath-sepher and captures it, I will give him Achsah my daughter for a wife.” And Othniel the son of Kenaz, Caleb’s younger brother, captured it. And Caleb gave him Achsah his daughter for a wife.


Why did God anoint Othniel as first judge of Israel?

1) God wanted to save and deliver His people from Cushan-rishathaim, king of Mesopotamia.

2) God wanted to teach the new generation of Israel to fight the enemies through a physical war (vv. 1-2) because the majority of them had no knowledge and no actual experience in Canaan war, that's why they can be easily conquered and oppressed by neighboring countries like Mesopotamia.

3) God wanted to test this new generation if they would obey His commandments (v. 4).


God patiently waited for them to repent from their sins that's why the Lord showed to them that without Him, there was no victory in their lives. God wanted them to realize that Othniel was not the one who defeated the enemies because of his human strength, but God alone was the one who empowered Othniel to deliver and save the Israelites from the hands of the enemies.


We can see another classic example on how God delivered His people from the enemies as mentioned in Psalms 18:1-3;


To the choirmaster. A Psalm of David, the servant of the LORD, who addressed the words of this song to the LORD on the day when the LORD delivered him from the hand of all his enemies, and from the hand of Saul. He said:

(V1) I love you, O LORD, my strength

(V2) The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold

(V3) I call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised, and I am saved from my enemies


Ultimately, in Isaiah 59:20‭-‬21, The Lord says to his people, “I will come to Jerusalem to defend you and to save all of you that turn from your sins. And I make a covenant with you: I have given you my power and my teachings to be yours forever, and from now on you are to obey me and teach your children and your descendants to obey me for all time to come.”


Therefore by this the guilt of Jacob will be atoned for, and this will be the full fruit of the removal of his sin: when he makes all the stones of the altars like chalkstones crushed to pieces, no Asherim or incense altars will remain standing (Isaiah 27:9).


Truly, apostle Paul testified that the Lord is a perfect "Deliverer" and He fulfilled His covenant to His people through our Lord Jesus Christ.


And in this way all Israel will be saved, as it is written,The Deliverer will come from Zion, he will banish ungodliness from Jacob; and this will be my covenant with them when I take away their sins. (Romans 11:26-27)


Reflect

Do you believe that Jesus Christ will deliver you from the enemies?


Remember

Our Lord Jesus Christ is our God, Savior, our strength, our refuge, our shield, our horn of salvation, our stronghold, our rock and fortress and our only Deliverer! And He is worthy to be praised forever!


Read

Psalms 18:1-3; Isaiah 59:20‭-‬21; Romans 11:26-27


Pray

Dear God, I acknowledge Your perfect ways for the benefit of Your people despite my stubbornness and unrighteousness in Your sight. But because of Your love, grace and mercy You forgive me constantly through Your Son Jesus Christ. Thank You Lord because You always deliver and protect me from the attack of the enemies. Thank You for Your unending protection because we are Your people. Thank You Jesus, truly You are my God, my Deliverer and my Savior forever. In Your name. Amen!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page