top of page
  • Writer's picturePtr. Jabez Caballero

Behold the Beloved: Be Held by the Beloved

Scripture Text: Song of Solomon 3:4-5


Scarcely had I passed them

when I found him whom my soul loves.

I held him, and would not let him go

until I had brought him into my mother's house,

and into the chamber of her who conceived me.

I adjure you, O daughters of Jerusalem,

by the gazelles or the does of the field,

that you not stir up or awaken love

until it pleases.

Song of Solomon 3:4-5

It is not uncommon to every Christian to have a fluctuating longing for their Lord and Savior. While this appears to be normal, this must be a warning of something wrong in us, that it has occurred so frequently that we got used to being an inconsistent seeker of the Lover-Redeemer, the Lord Jesus Christ. To think of Him less, seek of Him less, aim of Him less, is a clear mark of immaturity in us. This is as well an indication of how we poorly value our daily intimacy with Him. A manifestation of a heart that has few experiences of His daily grace. The urge is simple, as it has never been hidden to us, that we should seek the LORD while he may be found; call upon him while he is near! We have always known how much love the Lover-Redeemer has for us, but never really the depth of it. You know for certain (if not, be reminded then) that when you draw near to God, [and] he will draw near to you. Our all-beautiful compassionate Master is never far away from us. While we may feel that He is, anchor your heart to this unchangeable truth that He is not! In fact, never! Don’t ever forget the name of your Lover-Redeemer: His name Immanuel” (which means, God with us).


In continuation and in relation to what has been taught previously, our Immanuel (which means, God with us), the Beloved, provides in His presence a fulfilling rest for His bride [Church]. Therefore, one must be restless and unfulfilled until the heart resides in the presence of the all-beautiful Beloved. With this being said, what should the bride [Church] do when she finally resides in the presence of the Beloved [Christ]? The passage today provides what must be done immediately. As the poem continues, this time with the maiden only again: “Scarcely had I passed them when I found him whom my soul loves. I held him, and would not let him go until I had brought him into my mother's house, and into the chamber of her who conceived me. I adjure you, O daughters of Jerusalem, by the gazelles or the does of the field, that you not stir up or awaken love until it pleases. (vv. 3-4)” In the resumption of her daydreaming, she dreamt that her diligent and earnest searching was rewarded. Though the watchmen mentioned in the previous verse could not help her, she nevertheless found the one she loved (mentioned four times to emphasize and communicate to us that she really loves her beloved). The maiden dreamed of bringing her beloved home with her, to permanently be together with him, and to savor and enjoy the delight brought by their intimacy, in privacy—chamber of her mother’s home.


What has been conveyed clearly in the poem, the maiden modelled in her daydreaming, which the Church now must repeatedly accomplish:

  • She loved him – “whom my soul loves” (4x) (vv. 1-4)

  • She sought him – “I will seek him whom my soul loves; I sought him” (v.2)

  • She found him – “when I found him whom my soul loves” (v.4)

  • She held him – “I held him” (v.4a)

  • She would not let go – “and would not let him go” (v.4b)

  • She brought him – “I had brought him” (v.4c)

If these actions can be summarized in a very simple command, then it could be “behold(ing) the Beloved." Believers must be constant in loving, seeking, finding, holding, and bringing the Lover-Redeemer, Lord Jesus Christ closer and closer to their hearts. This is the natural thing to the one who is awakened in the wonders of God in the person of the Beloved [Christ]. There is endless loving, ceaseless seeking and finding, unending holding, and never-ending bringing of His all-satisfying and all-fulfilling presence.


The key to this reality is having our hearts founded in this truth: that the Beloved [Christ] has made Himself to be beheld by us in His rich grace and mercy. Meaning to say, before we even realize that we have beheld Him, we [Christians] are be(ing) held by the Beloved.

  • Jesus is loved because He first loved us

  • Jesus is sought because He came to seek and save the lost

  • Jesus is found because no one can come to Him unless the Father who sent Him draws him

  • Jesus is held because He upholds you with His righteous right hand

  • Jesus will not go because He will never leave you nor forsake you

  • Jesus is brought near because His name is Immanuel (which means, God with us)

The Beloved [Christ] has promised that He will be with us always, until the very end of the age. Therefore, remember that He is never far-away. He is closer than you ever think!


The real believer’s heart is awakened to perceive the wonders of God in the person of our Lover-Redeemer, Jesus Christ! From there, we learn to enthusiastically acclaim, oh taste and see that the LORD is good!


He who does not want know more of Him, knows nothing of Him yet…


Hear this then, dear saint! Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword? For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.


Desire communion with Him, who has loved us eternally! Thirst and long for Him! Be in awe of Him, the darling of Heaven! He is all yours… He is all-perfect, all-holy, all-glorious and all-happy! Be exceedingly joyous in being His beloved. If you have truly seen Him, then He is your exceeding joy.


Nobody loves you like He does…


Christ is all that we have! Christ is all that we need!


Take heart, dear saint!


Reflect

1. Do you seek to dwell in Christ’s presence permanently?

2. Do you yearn for His return?

3. Do you desire and long to love Him more, as you ought to be?


Remember

Our Beloved has always been with us, now and forever. He has given us eternal life, we will never perish, and no one will snatch us out of His hands. We are beheld by the Beloved in His very heart.


Read

Jude 1:24-25; Colossians 1:15-23


Pray

Father, I come humbly before You, in Your grace in Your Son, to ask for enlightenment. Make me see how are You holding altogether my divided heart for Your Son. Make me understand this amazing grace of Yours that has kept me in union with Your Son, that I may truly enjoy the richness of His fullness. Help me to love Him, seek for Him daily. Help me cling to the promise of Yours that I may truly find Him, and that I may be brought into His presence daily. I ask this, Father, longing to have a pure heart for Your Son alone, my all-encompassing Savior and Lord. This I pray, in His Name. Amen.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page